Skip to content
On this page
Community cover

Understanding sharing

Sharing your content is the best way to get feedback or to multiply the value of your work. Let's see how sharing works in Capacities. 💡

Sharing content in a knowledge graph

Since Capacities does not work like a traditional note-taking app, where everything is stored in folders, databases, and pages sharing is different as well.

Sharing in a knowledge graph

You are sharing content in a connected knowledge graph, so you need to decide which entities and which connections you want to share.

🔒 Privacy by design

If you don't share content nobody except you will ever have access to it. Shared content is only accessible to people you choose to share your content with. Your content is not publicly listed.

⚠️ Access levels

Content can currently either be private or shared without any access constraints meaning that everybody you share a link with will have access to your shared content. More granular permissions will be added later.

How it works

To share content open the right sidebar and click on "Share". Here you can select permissions for your content. A window will pop up allowing you to review the permission changes. By default, all entities that are referenced within that content (and content that is referenced in that content, and so on) will be shared as well. You can expand the details to see which elements will be shared and deselect the ones you don't want to share.

Once you have shared content, permission changes are based on four rules:

  1. If two entities that are linked are shared they are both visible.

    If you have a page within a page and both are shared both pages are visible. If you have a shared tag, all elements that are shared and tagged with that tag will also be visible. Or if a shared page references another page it will be visible in the backlink section of that page.

  2. If you create content on a shared page that content will automatically also be shared.

    If you are working on a shared page and you create another page within that page, or you add images or web links these entities will automatically be shared as well. You can at any point remove permissions in the "Share" menu. Here you again can select and deselect which permissions for which content you want to remove. One exception is Daily Notes. If you link a daily note in your content it will not be shared by default.

  3. Collections allow you to publish with fine-grained access control

    If you share a collection that includes public content the content will not be automatically visible. You can select which entries should be visible. To do that open the table view of your collection and manage an entry's visibility in the last column. This allows you to curate individual compilations of content and explicitly share them in that collection.

  4. Reused content will not be shared automatically

    If you are working on a public page and you reuse existing content that is not shared yet you will be asked if you want to share this content as well or not.

If you keep these rules in mind while working with public content you can create a powerful second brain that contains ideas that are shared with friends and colleagues. You can garden these public pages like your private notes and create explorable content networks for others. 🤯

💡 Good to know

If other users come across private content on your pages they will see a small banner with "Access denied" but never the entity. You have full control over privacy.

Tips on sharing

  • All public content will have a Shared label in the top left. That way you always know that you're editing public content.

  • If you open the graph view of your content on the top right you will see the public subgraph marked in green. If you shared a link to one of that content a user can explore all green links starting from that node.

  • Make sure to check the details when you share content. Often we forget how many links we create. If you share a page with a lot of links you will also by default share a lot of content. Remove content you don't want to share before you confirm.

If you have any ideas or questions about sharing, feel free to reach out. 📧



🤔  Do you find this explanation unclear or feel like something is missing in the docs?

With your help we can make the docs better for everyone. So just let us know, and we’ll improve it ASAP!

📨  Did reading the docs make you think of any product improvements?

Please let us know if you have an idea for a feature, think that something is missing or see a conceptual inconsistency that could be fixed. Just post it on our feedback board and discuss it with us and other users!

Built with ❤️ and ☕️ in 🇪🇺.